Banton Boat Coffin

Banton Boat Coffin Let us take a glimpse at the centuries-old tradition and mortuary practice of pre-colonial inhabitants of Banton Island and its boat-shaped coffins. The textile fragment, now more popularly known as the Banton Burial Cloth (BN-G1-11 /1961-F-11), was found associated with the skeletal remains. It measures 81 cm long and 21 cm wide … Read more

Manton de Manila (Manila Shawl)

Manton de Manila (Manila Shawl) Inspired by the Filipino dress, the embroidered silk shawl was actually made in China and exported to the Philippines, Latin America, and Europe via the Manila-Acapulco galleon trade. It was popular among wealthy Filipino women from the 18th to the 19th centuries. You may want to read: Filipiniana dress as … Read more

PCOO Inaugurates Mindanao Media Hub

PCOO Inaugurates Mindanao Media Hub With its state-of-the-art facilities, the Mindanao Media Hub in Davao City serves as the broadcasting hub of Regions 10, 11, 12, 13, and the BARMM, bringing tailored content and boosted signal to said regions. You may want to read: How to spot fake news? Davao City Emergency Hotlines Davao City … Read more

Atty. Leo B. Malagar appointed Deputy National Statistician

Atty. Leo B. Malagar appointed Deputy National Statistician Newly appointed PSA Assistant Secretary Atty. Leo Malagar takes the seat as Deputy National Statistician of the Civil Registration and Central Support Office. The Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) welcomes newly appointed Assistant Secretary Atty. Leo B. Malagar, who is also the new Deputy National Statistician (DNS) of … Read more


Maligay In the Sama wedding tradition, when a man wishes to get married, he informs his parents about it, to do the courting. Together with their relatives, they have to please the woman’s parents and relatives to get their approval. If the woman and her parents accept the other party’s proposal, a “pagkawin” or formal … Read more