Rules of International Humanitarian Law

rules of international humanitarian law
Rules of International Humanitarian Law | @chrgovph


Rules of International Humanitarian Law

International Humanitarian Law, also called “Rules of War”

International Humanitarian Law is a set of rules – international treaties and customary rules – aiming to:

  1. Protect victims of armed conflict, including combatants who are wounded or unable to fight, prisoners of war, and civilians.
  2. Establish parties’ rights and obligations, including limits to methods of warfare, such as particular weapons and tactics.

A major part of International Humanitarian Law (IHL) is contained in the 4 Geneva Conventions of 1949. Further developments are in the additional protocols of 1977 and 2005, and other IHL treaties.

The Philippines has ratified the Geneva Conventions and their Additional Protocols.

The Philippines has also passed 3 domestic International Humanitarian Laws:

  1. RA 9851: Philippine Act on Crimes Against International Humanitarian Law, Genocide, and Other Crimes Against Humanity.
  2. RA 10530: Law protecting the Red Cross and Red Crescent Emblems.
  3. RA 11188: Special Protection of Children in Situations of Armed Conflict Act.

Source: @chrgovph via International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

You may want to read: