Constitutional Offices in the Philippines

constitutional offices in the philippines
Constitutional Offices in the Philippines | @chrgovph


Constitutional Offices in the Philippines

In the structure of government, there are so-called Constitutional Commission/offices that are independent of the three branches of government – Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches.

These offices were established by virtue of the 1987 Constitution as checks and balances of the government from the excessive use of state power.

In order for Constitutional agencies to carry out their mandate properly, the Constitution provides fiscal autonomy to offices such as the

  1. Civil Service Commission (CSC),
  2. Commission on Elections (Comelec),
  3. Commission on Audit (COA),
  4. Office of the Ombudsman (OMB), and
  5. Commission on Human Rights (CHR).

You may want to read:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.