The First Province in Luzon

first province in luzon
The First Province in Luzon | Image Credit: @NHCPOfficial

“La Provincia de la Pampanga” was founded in 1571 by the Spanish conquistadores headed by Miguel López de Legazpi, making it the first province in Luzon. Back then, the land area of the province included parts of Bulacan, Tarlac, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Zambales, and Pangasinan.

The province is now known as the Culinary Capital of the Philippines because of its unique and delicious cuisine.

PAMPANGA • (puhm-PANG-guh)
a province in the Central Luzon region of the Philippines, known as the Culinary and Christmas capital of the Philippines.

Province of Pampanga
Capital (City): San Fernando
Largest City: Angeles City

Population (2020): 2,609,744
Comparable country: The Gambia (2,573,995)

Area: 2,062.47 km²
Comparable Country: Mauritius (2,030 km²)

Pop. Density (2020): 1,265/km²
Comparable Country: Bangladesh (1,265/km²)

HDI (2019): 0.76 (High)
Comparable Country: China (0.761)

You may want to read: