National Flag Day of the Philippines

national flag day of the philippines
National Flag Day of the Philippines | Image Source: @PIA_RIII

National Flag Day of the Philippines (May 28 – June 12)

National symbols like flags and heraldic items embody the identity of a nation. The country’s history, culture, and political aspirations command the respect of its citizen and those of other nations.

The following are excerpts from the rules and regulations implementing the Flag and Heraldic Code of the Philippines (Republic Act No. 8491).

Design of the National Flag

Section 8. The National Flag shall be blue, white, and red with eight-rayed golden yellow sun, and three stars that are five-pointed, as consecrated and honored by the people.

The 3 Stars
Representing the 3 major island groups, Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao.

Color: White
Representing liberty, equality, and fraternity.

Color: Blue
Representing peace, freedom, and justice.

Color: Red
Representing courage and patriotism.

The Golden Sun with Eight Rays
Representing unity, freedom, people’s democracy, and sovereignty

Eight Rays
Representing the 8 provinces that started revolting against Spain such as Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Pampanga, Morong (modern-day province of Rizal), Laguna, Batangas, and Nueva Ecija.

Hoisting and Display of the National Flag

Section 9. The National Flag shall be displayed in all buildings, official residences, public plazas, and institutions of learning every day throughout the year.

Section 10. The National Flag shall be permanently hoisted, day and night, throughout the year, in front of the following:
Malacanang Palace; Senate of the Philippines Building; Congress of the Philippines building; Supreme Court Building; Rizal Monument in Luneta, Manila; Bonifacio Monument in Caloocan City; Emilio Aguinaldo Shrine in Kawit, Cavite; Barasoain Church Historical Landmark in Malolos, Bulacan; Marcela Agoncillo Historical Landmark in Taal, Batangas; Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Libingan ng Mga Bayani, Taguig, Metro Manila; Mausoleo de Los Veteranos de la Revolucion, North Cemetery, Manila; all international port of entry and all other places as may be designated by the commission; Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority; Old Legislative Building; and Angeles Heritage District.

The National Flag shall be permanently hoisted on the site of the Battle of San Juan del Monte (Pinaglabanan), the Site of the Battle of Alapan (Imus, Cavite), and Santa Barbara Plaza in Iloilo.

Section 11. The National Flag shall also be displayed in private buildings and residences or raised in the open flagstaff in front of said buildings every April 9 (Araw ng Kagitingan); May 1 (Labor Day); National Flag Days from May 28 to June 12 (Independence Day); last Sunday of August (National Heroes Day); November 30 (Bonifacio Day); and December 30 (Rizal Day); and on such other days as may be declared or approved by the President and/or local chief executives.

The National Flag may also be raised and displayed at sunrise and lowered at sunset and throughout the year in the open flagstaff in front of private buildings: provided, that proper flag ceremonies be observed in accordance with these rules.

Section 12. All government entities should observe flag days with appropriate ceremonies. Socio-civic groups, non-government organizations, and the private sector are enjoined to observe and cooperate in making the celebration a success.

Source: National Flag Day of the Philippines @PIA_RIII via RA No.8491

Today, May 28, we join the Filipino people as we celebrate National Flag Day.

On May 28, 1898, FIlipino Revolutionaires led by General Emilio Aguinaldo fought and defeated a Spanish garrison of 270 men at Alapan, Imus. The victorious Filipino army then marched on Cavite Nuevo where for the first time, the Philippine flag (created in 1897) was unfurled. The victory at Alapan would be followed by the fall of Cavite and a general Spanish retreat as Filipinos serving in the Spanish army joined the revolution. The ongoing Spanish-American war had greatly undermined Spanish position in the Philippines. By June 12, with Manila under seige, General Aguinaldo would declare Philippine independence after more than 300 years of foreign rule over the islands.

Let us not forget the importance of these symbols to our story as a nation.
Let us also not take for granted the independence and freedoms that we enjoy today.
Mabuhay ang Pilipinas!

You may want to read: