4 Philippine Associate Justices of the Supreme Court Accepted Nomination To Be Chief Justice

Four (4) Philippine Associate Justices of the Supreme Court Accepted Nomination To Be The Next Chief Justice of the Philippine Supreme Court.

The period for nomination and application has closed.

Four (4) Associate Justices of the Supreme Court accepted the nomination to be the next Chief Justice to replace former Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno.

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno was removed from office by way of an 8–6 decision by the Supreme Court over a quo warranto petition, rendering her appointment as Chief Justice null and void.

As of the closing time, the following Associate Justices have accepted their nomination:

  • Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro,
  • Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta,
  • Associate Justice Lucas Bersamin,
  • Associate Justice Andres Reyes Jr.

Apart from the Associate Justices of the SC, only one other has accepted a nomination for Chief Justice, Executive Judge and RTC Judge (Tagum, Br. 1) Virginia D. Tejano-Ang also accepted the nomination.

Associate Justice Leonen formally declined his nomination for Chief Justice (via J Victorino) stating that the Associate Justices’ agreement that the next Chief Justice should come from the 5 most senior incumbent Associate Justices is a rational policy based on past experience, he states that he stands by the seniority rule.

Senior Associate Justice Antonio T. Carpio, in a two-sentence letter to the JBC, has confirmed that he is declining his nomination for Chief Justice.

You may want to read: