1935 Constitutional Convention Philippines

constitutional convention philippines
Constitutional Convention Philippines | Lahi

The constitutional convention (Philippines) was formed on July 10, 1934, with 202 members, drafted the 1935 Philippine Constitution.

This proved to the United States that the Philippines could stand on its own feet.

Nabuo ang constitutional convention nuong July 10, 1934 kung saan 202 miyembro ang nag draft ng 1935 Philippine Constitution.

Ito ang nagpatunay sa Estados Unidos na kayang tumayo ng Pilipinas sa sarili niyang paa.

Headed by Claro M. Recto, the Constitutional Convention of 1934 was responsible for framing the 1935 Commonwealth Constitution which was approved by the United States on March 23, 1935.

The so-called “Seven Wise Men” — Filemon Sotto, chairman, and Norberto Romualdez, Manuel Roxas, Vicente Singson Encarnacion, Manuel C. Briones, Miguel Cuaderno, and Conrado Benitez (who replaced Jose P. Laurel) — prepared the draft of the Constitution.

The 1935 Constitution provided for a unicameral National Assembly and the President was elected to a six-year term without re-election.

The Constitution was amended in 1940 to have a bicameral Congress composed of a Senate and House of Representatives, as well as the creation of an independent electoral commission. The amendment also granted the President a four-year term with a maximum of two consecutive terms in office. (kahimyang.com)

You may want to read: