Mindanao Railway Project

mindanao railway project
Mindanao Railway Project | @HouseofRepsPH

Mindanao Railway Project

Overview of the Project

1,544-km railway system that will connect Mindanao Cities, namely: Davao, General Santos, Cagayan de Oro, Iligan, Cotabato, Zamboanga, Butuan, Surigao, and Malaybalay.

The first phase is the Tagum-Davao-Digos Segment with eight (8) stations within its alignment in Tagum, Carmen, Panabo, Mudiang, Davao, Toril, Sta. Cruz, and Digos.

It will have a Depot in Tagum for heavy maintenance, and a satellite depot in Davao for light maintenance.

The rail line is a single-track, standard gauge, non-electrified system, which can be upgraded to dual track and electrification in the future.

Designed to accommodate 122,000 passengers by 2022.

It will reduce travel time from Tagum City, Davao del Norte to Digos City, Davao del Sur from 3.5 hours to 1.3 hours.

It will improve inter-island connectivity and will enable increased trade given the island’s potential as a major transshipment point and center of trade in the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia, Philippines, East ASEAN Growth Region.

You may want to read: