38 Philippine Foreign Service Officers Confirmed

By | August 18, 2018

The Commission of Appointments Confirmed the Appointment of 38 Philippine Foreign Service Officers.


The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) extended its gratitude to the Commission of
Appointments for the smooth confirmation of 38 Philippine Foreign Service officers on
15 August 2018.

philippine foreign service officers


The Commission on Appointments (CA) consists of the of the President of the Senate,
as ex-officio Chairman, 12 Senators and 12 Members of the House of Representatives,
elected by each house on the basis of proportional representation from the political
parties and parties and organizations registered under the party-list system
represented therein.


The Department also congratulated the officers for the confirmation of their ad interim


“On behalf of the Department, I thank the Commission for its trust and confidence in
the career corps and for confirming the appointment of our latest batch of officers,”
Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Peter S. Cayetano said.


“I wish to also congratulate our newly confirmed officers. This is the fruit of your
competence, professionalism and hard work. I have full confidence that you will not
rest on your laurels and continue to perform your duties to promote our foreign policy
objectives,” Secretary Cayetano added.


The CA also confirmed the appointment of Ma. Hellen Barber-De La Vega as Ambassador
Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the Commonwealth of Australia, with concurrent
jurisdiction over Nauru, the Republic of Vanuatu and Tuvalu.


Ambassador De La Vega started her 36-year diplomatic career in 1982 as a research clerk
at the Office of American Affairs. She rose from the ranks and had served in various
capacities in Los Angeles, Myanmar, Beijing, Tokyo, Madrid, and Jakarta.


Ambassador De La Vega is currently the Assistant Secretary for ASEAN Affairs and
recently received the Order of Sikatuna Award with the Rank of Datu for her contribution
to the successful hosting by the Philippines of the 50th ASEAN Summit in 2017.


Confirmed with the rank of Chief of Mission, Class I were Maria Andrelita S. Austria,
Leslie J. Baja, Frank R. Cimafranca, Ma. Theresa Dizon de Vega, Raul S. Hernandez,
Meynardo Los Baños Montealegre and Irene Susan B. Natividad.


Confirmed as Chief of Mission, Class II were Edgar B. Badajos, Robespierre L. Bolivar,
Jose Victor V. Chan-Gonzaga, Patrick A. Chuasoto, Neil Frank R. Ferrer, Enrico T. Fos,
Patrick John U. Hilado, Anne Jalando-on Louis, Mardomel Celo D. Melicor and Zaldy B.


Confirmed as Career Minister include Germinia V. Aguilar-Usudan, Marford M. Angeles,
Edgar Tomas Q. Auxilian, Indhira C. Bañares, Roberto T. Bernardo, Fernando F. Cariño
III, Renato N. Dueñas, Jr., Edna May G. Lazaro, Arlene T. Magno, Anthony Achilles L.
Mandap, Mersole J. Mellejor, Marlowe A. Miranda, Noel M. Novicio, Gunther Emil M. Sales and Kristine Leilani R. Salle.


Confirmed as Foreign Service Officer, Class I were Grace Anne G. Bulos, Jed Martin A.
Llona, Bernadette A. Mendoza, Edwin Gil Q. Mendoza, Sheila Marie C. Tario and Princess U. Tomas-Tayao. (DFA)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.